Acne? Yikes. Curology? Awesome.

Skin is scary. Alright, if you’re me…. It’s absolutely terrifying. I have to prepare for war every night, and day with my face. If genetics, dairy, not enough water, living in a desert, and being plagued with stress doesn’t bother your face, you need to get on your knees and pray to your higher power immediately. Tell your parents thank you. Eat that slice of cheese (don’t really. Dairy is so bad for you.) Just celebrate, please? For me?

When I was younger, I found I would get the occasional deep pimple under the skin. It always turned bright red, stuck around for centuries, only got worse…. And finally went away (temporarily)

It was so frustrating, and embarrassing. I would always think to myself, “I hope this goes away. My middle school boyfriend will breakup with me if he sees this.” Of course now when I look back, it’s mostly funny with a small hint of sad insecurity of the middle school hormonal girl I was.

I tried everything! Every time we went to the store I’d beg my mom to buy me the latest and greatest facewash, and she would always gently remind me that I already owned 17 bottles at home. I tried proactive, I visited the doctor, I scrubbed my face, I would pop my pimples… anything to find an immediate cure. Later on, I found my diet, lack of water consumption, dairy loving self was truly inflicting most of these issues upon myself. Growing up in the meat eating, cheese worshiping family I did, I never realized that touching my face after playing on the computer and eating Doritos was ruining my skin. I really had no idea your diet not only showed up on your hips, it also showed up on your face right in the middle of your eyebrows where everyone noticed. *INSERT HEAVY SIGH*

So now you’re probably thinking, you’re kidding right? You were a greasy little teenager with no guidance. Wrong! I was a shower freak who absolutely could not handle not washing her face less than 3 times a day. That’s also where I went wrong, and that’s where you’re going wrong too.

Over washing your face over dries your face, thus encouraging your skin to produce all of that nasty oil that clogs your pores. It wasn’t until I was almost 19 that I came to the conclusion that all of my over-care, and general understanding of the largest organ on the body was being mistreated!

So, after hundreds of failed DIY face scrubs, failing face wash, treatments, and dehydrating my poor body.. I invested in a water bottle to tote around with me, found a dermatologist, quit eating meat along with drinking soda, and even bought sunscreen.

 

Some of those sound like precautions only an aging, health freak would take. WRONG. Or maybe that’s just me that feels that way.

Of course it hurts when I can’t eat a quesadilla every time I feel lazy, and of course wearing sunscreen feels like it would inhibit my ability to achieve that nice warm glow every woman desires.

 

Let me expand, sunscreen prevents sunspots, wrinkles, scars, and overall ugly things we don’t want to happen to our skin. Lowers your skin cancer risk, lowers blotchiness in face, and protects you from harmful sunrays!

Water hydrates our body, and flushes out toxins. Water is essential to our very life form. It’s good for you. Do you already drink a lot of water? Drink more. It relieves fatigue, improves mood, helps eliminate headaches, and migraines, and aids in weight loss. Amazing right?

Moisturizing is beneficial to you oily ladies, yes, I’m talking to you too. Oil, as I’ve mentioned is actually just dry skin in disguise. On a side note, I have yet to find a primer I can use that doesn’t make me oily.

Now, onto my *Curology experience. I’ve been using Curology for approximately 2 1/2 months. I suffer from hyper pigmentation along with cystic acne. My skin has made serious improvements. I was one of the oddly lucky ones who never even purged when I started this. My skin went from multiple bumps on my skin to few, and far between. My cheekbones and chin were constantly inflamed with a new pimple VERY frequently. When I started drinking more water, and using raw honey and nutmeg face masks they definitely got better.

However, when I started Curology not only was I excited to finally get my hands on a dermatologist via my phone, I was even more thrilled with the price. No, this is not a paid advertisement. I wish I was getting paid along with outstanding results, but I’m but a new blogger with absolutely no idea how to do it.

Truthfully, I’ve finally started to regain my confidence. I’m no longer completely disgusted when I look into the mirror when I get out of the shower. I’m happier. You know, studies have been conducted which say people with skin problems are more prone to depression, feeling as if their life is at a lower quality. I agree wholeheartedly. This is something I was bullied for. I always felt like it was the first thing people noticed about me. It altered my relationships and friendships with people.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes these things bother me. I do feel like I have more control, and knowledge on it now. This makes it feel easier to breathe, and easier to even look people in the eyes. In all honesty, with all of my struggles, I’m glad I’ve had skin problems. Why? Because I genuinely feel like I can sympathize with something that can have a  pretty  big impact on how you feel about yourself. Especially when magazines, movies, and TV show celebrities always have perfect skin. Whether it’s Photoshop, natural, or very expensive treatments — that’s not how the real world is. Not everyone can afford skin peels, and not everyone can handle accutane or birth-control.

With Curology, I’ve found my scars, and texture improving. Slowly, but surely. Mind you mine is very deep and dark. I look forward to showing you my complete skin transformation, but for now I will just speak about it.

My dermatologist/curologist initially prescribed me a combination of niacinamide, clindamycin, and zinc pyrithione. I had an allergic reaction to the niacinamide, so she changed my prescription to clindamycin, zinc pyrithione, and azelaic acid. Now, if it hasn’t registered yet – these are prescription grade medications.

I’ve had great luck. I cut the cost, and the trip. To me, leaving my house makeup-less is a fear of mine still. So when I signed up, I was prompted with questions about my skin, asked for pictures of my face, and gave some information that would be valuable to my dermatologist. It was very fast too! I received my bottle within a few days. My dermatologist provided me with helpful information and recommendations.

 

Overall, I’ve been very satisfied with my newest Curology journey I’ve embarked on.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. I love hearing about your skin care journey!! I know how much this has effected you and I admire your determination to find out what works!!! ❤️ Keep it up!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

